Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

image

SYNOPSIS

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time. (source)

When I found out about Me Before You in theaters, I immediately wanted to read the book. Let me tell you, I was blown away! I finished the book at 4:20am. Yes, it was that good. I was caught up in the laughter, tears and giggles that came with the question of what would happen next. It really touched my heart.

What I loved about Me Before You
πŸ”Ή Louisa Clark’s family. She lives with her parents, sister, nephew and grandad. Her family is funny, loving and supportive. I had a good laugh with some of her dad’s conversation though, egocentric sometimes.
πŸ”Ή Love-hate relationship of Lou and her sister. I loved that this is realistic and relatable. They may have differences and argue most of the times but, they still had moments to bond, they were a team and Lou could still say things to Treena especially Will’s shocking plan. I love that kind of relationship between siblings.
πŸ”Ή Lou didn’t gave up on Will. Even though Will was rude to her at first and especially when she learned what the guy planned. She set out to research ways how to change his perspective and to show him that life is still worth living.
πŸ”Ή Romance that bloomed between Lou and Will. Even though Will didn’t say the he loves Lou back, I know that he does. Who’s with me?? 😍 But I appreciate that he acknowledged Lou’s efforts to make him happy. Will was also very encouraging for Lou to live boldly, that there’s a whole world out there.
πŸ”Ή The knowledge I gained about quadriplegic. I didn’t know anything about it at first but, this book opened my mind to it. There are still a lot of things they can do and I really hope they won’t get discouraged about life.

The ending might not be the one I hoped for, I’m still happy that Will Traynor and Lou Clark met. Touched each others lives and loved each other. I’m a sucker for happy endings but even though this book doesn’t have one for the characters, this is still the book that I won’t soon forget.

I highly recommend this book to everyone. I know you all will love it, too, as much as I did. ❀

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Jojo Moyes was raised in London. She writes for the Daily Telegraph, Daily Mail, Red, and Woman & Home. She’s married to Charles Arthur, technology editor of The Guardian. They live with their three children on a farm in Essex, England.

QUOTES FROM THE BOOK
πŸ”Ή β€œYou know, you can only actually help someone who wants to be helped.”
πŸ”Ή β€œChallenge yourself a bit.”
πŸ”Ή β€œYou only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”
πŸ”Ή β€œI will never, ever regret the things I’ve done. Because most days, if you’re stuck in one of these, all you have are the places in your memory that you can go to.”
πŸ”Ή β€œSome mistakes…just have greater consequences than others. But you don’t have to let that night be the thing that defines you.”
πŸ”Ή β€œSometimes, Clark, you are pretty much the only thing that makes me want to get up in the morning.” can we all just swoon when Will said this to Lou?! Aah!! 😍
πŸ”Ή β€œLive boldly. Push yourself. Don’t settle.”
πŸ”Ή β€œKnowing you still have possibilities is a luxury.”

As of writing, I haven’t seen the movie yet but here’s the trailer.

Have you read the book and/or watched the movie already?Β  Did you enjoy it, too?

13 thoughts on “Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. Wow! I have not read the book nor seen the movie…but after watching that trailer I want to do both! I can see why you were up until 4:20am reading it! It looks amazing…thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this book! The ending made me choke … Not planning to watch the movie though coz I feel it wont describe things as well as the book did … but then that soundtrack towards the end makes me wanna watch it! Are you planning to read Me After You?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When I got to the end of the book, I was so emotional as she was reading the letter. Such a great story! As much as I want to read the sequel, I heard it did not do as well as the first book. Not sure if I should read it in case it spoils everything. What did you think about the sequel (if u read it) ?worth the read?

    Like

Leave a Reply

