What Makes Our Mom Special?

But there’s a story behind everything. How a picture got on a wall. How a scar got on your face. Sometimes the stories are simple, and sometimes they are hard and heartbreaking. But behind all your stories is always your mother’s story, because hers is where yours begin. β€”Mitch Albom, For One More Day


It’s that time again where we all celebrate mother’s day and however we will spend the day with them today, let’s make it extra special. Let’s remind them again how they mean so much to us. It’s the least we can do for them.

My mother and I have a love-hate relationship. Most of the times, it’s my fault too but I always learn something whenever we have disagreements. Sometimes, I just don’t understand her because I’m not a mother yet. But I’m grateful she’s still here with me.

What makes my mother special is that she’s selfless and she didn’t give up on us even though it’s hard to become a solo parent to four daughters. She’s special because she’s resilient. She’s strong. She’s loving. She doesn’t say I love you to us often and we didn’t grow up saying that openly to each other but she shows it by cooking us delicious meals, helping us when we have problems, doing most of the house chores, sharing wisdom and other things. She’s special because she’s one-of-a-kind, not just as a mother, person.

My mother is not perfect. But those imperfections make me inspire to be the best mother my children could have in the future. She’s not perfect but she has a heart of a real mother. 🌸

What makes your mom special?

🌸 “What makes my mom special? It is even though we have a lot of misunderstanding, she never failed to show that she loves us.” β€” Jayzel

🌸 “That she accepted the one that’s special to me.” β€” Andy

🌸 “My mom is special because she tries to be everything we need.” β€” Chia

🌸 “My mom is special because she can juggle being a housewife and a businesswoman πŸ’• She is my inspiration, my πŸ’― Happy Mother’s Day to all your moms” β€” Nicole

🌸 “Barbara is the sweetest woman I have ever met. Though she’s not my biological mother, she treated my like her own daughter. For 4 years, she took care of me. She made me feel part of her own family. She even helped me check grammatical errors on my school papers. She loves to cook and her dedication on cooking and preparing food is admirable. She will go beyond just to serve the best dishes for her family and guests. She also help other people in need. Barbara is an Angel sent from heaven. She has a big heart and a loving soul. Even if I am not her daughter, I want the world to know that Barbara is one of the best Moms here on Earth.” β€” Rose

🌸 “What makes my mom special is that she’s our calm after the storm. She never looses hope.” β€” Marie

🌸 “What makes my mom special? My mom stood as a father to us. Being a single mom or solo parent, makes her special. It’s not easy to raise and keep the family intact on your own.
I know a lot of (complete) family who are struggling in life even though the mom and dad are helping each other. Growing up with a broken family, I wish to be in their (complete) family. But as I was learning the ways of life, I’ve come to appreciate my (broken) family.
More so, I’ve come to be proud about my mom on being a dad as well. The struggles are real. I’ve always been proud of my mom. Being a solo parent, is what makes my mom special!” β€” Sofia

🌸 “Without my mama I’m not here in this world, for me that’s the most amazing thing a mama can do. Moms allow us to see the world!!! That makes them special.

As a firstborn I am always grateful, that I had the opportunity to taste the very first mama’s milk, the first one who stayed in mama’s tummy, I caused mama’s first stretched marks, thank you mama for being my mama.

My mama isn’t perfect but she has extraordinary strength, perseverance, and a good heart. She is not only my mama, but my friend, my big sister, whom I can share all my stories. I am who I am because of her, and there are no words that can express how grateful I am to have her in my life. Thank you mama for all your love and sacrifices for us! Love you! To all mothers, Happy Mother’s Day!” β€” Kristina


Happy mother’s day to all the mothers out there! Also, happy mother’s day to all the fathers who took the responsibility of being the father and mother to their children. May your day be filled with love and joy.

How about you? What makes your mom special? ❀️

15 thoughts on “What Makes Our Mom Special?

  1. Wow…raising four daughters alone….that’s a feat.

    I had a difficult relationship with my Mom, too, but I always knew she lived my son and I and she always kept a home for us to come back to. I had no idea I would feel so devastated when she died.

    She did the books for my Dad’s business when I was growing up, alot of volunteer work and took care of me as I grew up very ill and was in and out of hospitals. She was an amazing cook and baker and always made a big deal of our birthdays.

    When my Dad had an affair and left her, she went back to work and worked hard. She took care of my son off and on as I was raising him alone.

    I loved how she introduced me to art museums, musicals, symphonies, ballet, fashion…and yet she could go fishing and get grubby and be at ease. She was funny, too.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. AWW this is such a beautiful post! This is just so sweet and wonderful, I teared up a bit. My mom is in so many ways my opposite, but I think that is why we work well together on so many levels. She doesn’t always understand how I feel, but she tries very hard. She’s always been the one person I can count on, no matter what the situation. And, she lets me force her to read all kinds of books and watch all kinds of shows and movies πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this post. You are so sweet. I’m also from the Philippines and I’m happy to meet you here! Hope we can be friends. I’m new here and I hope you can help me a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

